Hampton University
Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications Logo
Mavis Baah and Jared Council, winners of the 2010 President's Award
Mavis Baah and Jared Council, winners of the 2010 President's Award

Recent Articles

More News Items »

JAC Seniors Selected for President's Awards

Congratulations to Mavis Baah, broadcast journalism senior and Jared Council, print journalism senior, for the Hampton University's President's Award recognition during Honors Day, March 20.

Baah tied with Melani French for the coveted President's Cup, and Council was selected as a finalist, continuing the Scripps Howard tradition of winning the President's Award. Last year, the President's Awards went to Scripps Howard majors Leon Hendrix and Michelle Byrd; to Stephanie James in 2008, and to Brian Davis in 2007. Baah remembers from her freshman year when Davis won the President's Cup.

"When Brian won, it gave me the confidence to make it my goal to apply too," she said.

All seniors who are eligible to participate in May 2010 graduation ceremonies and who have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above were invited to compete for the Hampton University President's Award. In addition to a resume, nominees submitted an essay reflecting their perspectives defining the concepts Character, Competency, and Service and how the HU experience equipped them to compete in the global marketplace.